Thinking About the Youth

When I think about the youth (specifically those I have been closely related with in my job) I can’t help but smile. They are a joy to me and sometimes sadness as well (when they show stubbornness).

I started as a student leader in one of the interdenominational youth organizations way back college, while serving as a youth leader in my home town church. In 1998, I moved to the city to look for a better job and I got one which paid roughly triple than my previous teaching job. A year or so after that I gave up my job for something that I really have the heart doing – working in the church full time. And guess what, I’m with the youth again (I have a youth pastor above me).

It was hard the first time. I didn’t know them. I didn’t have any idea how to work with them. They are all talented young souls but I didn’t know how to reach out to them and make use of their talents for their good. Plus, there were a lot of things I didn’t encounter (as to organizing and handling them) previously. At the present, we hold a youth service every Friday; have to prepare for the LOVE seminars and the JAM concert in February; there is an interchurch gathering in April; have to have the organization recognized in the campuses (not just one campus) every July; and a youth camp this summer (just to name a few). In addition to those I mentioned, there are those who were just hard to get (maybe because they just didn’t like me or what). As months passed, we were able to warm up at least. We’ve come to know and respect each other better.

The youth are awesome. I love them. They remind me of strength, bonds and laughter. They remind me to thirst for wisdom and knowledge, to take a step at a time, to worry not and to hope for a better tomorrow. I’m learning and still have many things to learn. Yes it’s my duty to take care of them, to visit them, to pray for them, to help them in their walk with God. But now, this goes beyond work. I hope and pray that I would live longer to see what would make of them when they get older. And I pray that they’ll grow in God and live this life with a purpose.

Are you handling a youth group? Share your thoughts about them here. At least you would be able to help me..

Leave a Reply

